DIY Lace Shoulder Top

 

DIY Lace Shoulder Top

DIY Lace Shoulder Top

This is a DIY I came up with the other day when I realized I have a lot of extremely boring tops…now before you say anything-these are tops I wear with leggings when I’m just being lazy at home or at my boyfriend’s. They’re super comfortable and I got them for only a few dollars at Goodwill. Money well spent if you ask me. I have at least 2 others that look just like this that I’ll eventually do something else with. Anyway! I noticed “Wow, these are really boring and unattractive.” For this one I decided, why not give it a little touch of ‘pretty’ without compromising the comfort? So I came up with this lace shoulder top. Look below for the tutorial!

Supplies:

  • Top (any kind will do)
  • Lace trim
  • Scissors
  • Needle & Thread
  • Pins (optional)

1) First decide on the top & type of lace trim you’ll be using.

2) Cut the lace trim to fit the shoulders. Leave an inch or two for the hems. (Better safe than sorry!)

3) (Before attaching to your top) hem one side of the lace-the side that will be on the outside of the shoulder.

4) Place the lace trim on the shoulder and pin and/or baste. (It’s easiest to do this with the shoulder flat-I put spread my on top of a magazine. See photo.)

5) Sew it on! Start with the outer shoulder edge, then the sides, and last the inner shoulder edge.

6) To finish, wrap the raw inner shoulder edge onto the inside and sew down (see photo).

7) Repeat with the opposite side.

Leave a Reply

