DIY Silk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

DIY Silk Tie-Dyed Easter Eggs

DIY Silk Tie-Dyed Easter Eggs

I’d been seeing these silk tie-dyed Easter eggs all of the internet before easter and couldn’t wait to try it during our egg dying day! I did these along with my mom and dad and they came out pretty awesome don’t you think? :) Below is my tutorial version, as well as a gallery showing the steps, and way below at the bottom, I have listed my notes and results, including photos of the ties next to the eggs!

Supplies:

  • 100% silk (It must be 100% silk!!!)
  • Raw eggs (We used medium because we heard they were best, probably because the size is easiest to wrap.)
  • Fabric scissors
  • White cloth (We used an old sheet.)
  • A pot (A lot of sites say that it has to be enamel or glass, but we used enamel for the first batch and a metal one for the second and they came out just the same.)
  • Twist ties and/or rubber bands
  • Vinegar 1/4 cup
  • Tongs
  • Vegetable oil and paper towels (Optional for shining eggs.)
—I understand this tutorial may look confusing and overwhelming! It’s only because I’ve added notes and suggestions from my experience to help you out! I have however just bolded the main steps if you’re just looking for a quick read through!
Steps:

1) Cut open your ties (How I did it to maximize the amount of silk I got out of each tie):

  1. Cut your tie up high where it starts getting skinny.
  2. Snip the middle of the tie between where the two sides meet (See photos for these steps, some are hard to explain.)
  3. Snip the threads holding the tag and tie together.
  4. Remove white inside part, it will slip right out.
  5. Cut out the bottom lining and voila! A pretty large-sized piece of silk!

2) Grab your white fabric and cut it into squares large enough to fit around your eggs. (Don’t cut them too small, better safe than sorry!)

3) Get out your raw eggs and cut your silk into pieces large enough to cover your eggs, but without too much overlap is better I think.

4) Wrap your eggs with the silk. Some tips:

  • Wet the silk before wrapping, this will make the silk cling to the eggs easily, avoiding the large white spots (as seen on one of our eggs).
  • The tighter the silk is against the egg the better. Use rubber bands or string around the silk to make it tighter. B
  • Be careful because the eggs are raw!
  • Use twist ties (bread ties) to tie off the ends of your silk.

5) Wrap your white fabric squares around them. It doesn’t matter how, you can do it any number of ways. I believe this step is just to keep the silk in place. And maybe to keep any colors from leaking out?

6) Put the eggs in a pot with enough water to cover them, along with 1/4 cup of vinegar. (I wonder if you used more the colors would come out more vibrant?)

7) Bring water to a boil.

8) Turn heat down and simmer for 40 minutes. (Every site says a different amount of time. Some 20, 30, and 40. We did our first batch for 40, and our second for 45-50. I think the second batch many have come out more vibrant.)

9) Remove eggs from pot with tongs and let cool by leaving on a rack or paper towels, or by dropping in a bowl of cold water like we did to speed it up.

10) Once cool, unwrap your eggs and see how beautifully they turned out! Each one is a surprise!

11) Gently shine with vegetable oil on a paper towel to shine and bring out colors.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NOTES AND RESULTS:

-For some reason, the tie I was using for my photo tutorial didn’t transfer any color onto the egg, even though it was 100% silk. I’m not sure why this was, but I was very disappointed!

-The darker and/or more vibrant the tie is, the better it will transfer onto the egg. Dark/bright reds and blues seem to work best.

-If the tie has a larger ribbed texture on it, it will transfer that way onto the egg as well.

-Now look below for the tie and egg comparison photos!

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

This is what I’m talking about, about the reds and blues coming out the most vibrant!

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

I didn’t like this tie to begin with, and I don’t like it much better on the eggs! This tie was one my mom wanted to get. I don’t like it, but it did come out nice.

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

This was one tie I was most excited about when we bought it and it didn’t disappoint! I think I like it so much because it reminds me of one of those Ukrainian Easter eggs. And the colors came out very nice!

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

The eggs from this tie came out extremely vibrant. Even more than the photo shows I think. I like them, but they remind me a lot of the 4th of July…not Easter.

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

THIS ONE IS MY FAVORITE! Excuse the caps. I just love it. You can’t see it in this picture, I’m sure it’s in some of the others, but because of the straight bordered on this tie, the bottom came out with a perfect circle around it. We unfortunately didn’t really keep track of how many eggs we were using with each tie, so we only ended up with one of these :(

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

I kind of hate this tie, but it managed to make one of the best Easter-y looking eggs of all of them! They turned out beautifully. If you’ve read any other tutorials about these, you know that almost every one says that the ugliest ties can make the prettiest eggs, and it really is true!

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

This was the first egg my mom did that she didn’t wet the silk for. You can really see how much that makes a difference in avoiding white spots. This was also the first egg we unwrapped (coincidence) so it was a lot more impressive when it was the first one, I don’t like it quite as much as I first did, but it’s still very pretty. And it looks nothing like the tie it came from!

DIY SIlk Tie Dyed Easter Eggs

And then there’s this one. Really cool looking tie, letdown on an egg. It would have been awesome if the colors had transferred though! I wouldn’t suggest getting any ties with light colors like this one. unless you’d like to go back and use a q-tip to fill it in with dye.

I’m not sure how the lamest one ended up being last…but there you have it!

